Pig Trotter Vinegar 猪脚醋

I love this dish though traditionally cooked for women during their post natal confinement, I have made adjustment to the amount of ginger so it’s great for anyone, anytime.

I remember cooking this for a friend’s wife after she had given birth and used 1kg of old ginger in this stew. It is believed to warm the womb and remove wind. Pig trotters are packed-full of collagen too.

This bowl is neatly 2 days old. Although it tastes better with each passing day, I seldom have much left beyond 3 days.

I buy the front trotter and my butcher who gives the trotter a good shave and chops the trotter into good size chunks. Excellent service, I call this!

Preparation may take time but the cooking is simple. I will wash the pieces in water, to remove all the bone chips and residual blood. This I do many times until the all bone chips and loose bones are removed and the water is almost clear.

Then I blanch the trotter in hot water, at least twice to further clean it. You could boil it over the fire but I have found just pouring hot water over the pieces is good enough.

Drain the water and set trotter aside. We are now ready to cook.

Ingredients

1 pig trotter, front hock, chopped and prepared as mentioned above.

1 bottle/750ml black rice vinegar. (I use Chan Kong Thye – bulldog pink label black sweet rice vinegar)

1500ml water

1 cup black sugar/brown sugar

Half kg or less old ginger. Washed, peeled and bruised, (I use a pestle to bruise the ginger).

4 tabsp sesame oil

Method

1. in a large non-metal pot (I use a Pyrex casserole. You could use a large clay pot), pour sesame oil to heat over medium fire. Once oil is slightly smoking, put ginger to fry for about 2-3 minutes.

2. Next, put in trotters, vinegar, water, sugar and ginger. Bring to boil covered, then lower the fire and allow to stew for at least 2 hours or until trotters are tender. Then turn off fire.

3. I recommend that you leave overnight and eat only the next day so as to allow flavours to develop. I would heat contents to a boil then leave it over the stove. Then reheat again the following day, especially before serving.

Note:

You might want to put in hard boiled eggs. This can be added with the trotters after an hour into the stewing.

Main ingredients. So simple.

One thought on “Pig Trotter Vinegar 猪脚醋

Leave a comment