Aunty’s YTF Bitter Gourd

There’s a food stall near my office and I especially like the Aunty’s bitter gourd dish but it could do with a whole lot less salt and grease. 

I have come up with a similar recipe minus the grease and saltiness. My colleagues say that mine is better than Aunty’s. I hope they are not just humouring me.  You could try this recipe and let me know what you think.


Ingredients
*1 large bitter gourd, clean out the seeds by scooping out the seeds and pulp. Then slice in 5mm thick round slices
*200g minced pork
*1/2 can pork luncheon meat, mashed (I would get Spam)

Seasoning
*1 egg, beaten lightly
*1 tabsp corn flour
*1 tabsp light soy sauce
*1 tabsp sesame oil
*dash of white pepper

Other Ingredients 
*oil for shallow fry
*additional corn flour for coating

Method
1. Mix minced pork, mashed luncheon meat with seasoning and leave in the fridge for at least an hour.
2. Spoon meat filling about 1 tsp to fill the centre of the bitter gourd slices. Press firmly, turn over and smooth over the meat filling.
3. Steam the filled bitter gourd slices for 10 minutes. Remove from steamer.
4. Lightly sprinkle corn flour to coat both sides of the cooked bitter gourd.
5. Heat oil in frying pan, fry one side of the steamed bitter gourd slice till lightly golden brown. Turn over and fry the other side as well.
6. Remove bitter gourd slices from pan and blot off excess oil. Serve with hot rice.

Leave a comment