Hae Luak

Say Orr Luak or Oyster Omelet and many will be drooling. This Teochew heritage hawker dish is almost always popular with Singaporeans. I enjoy Orr Luak occasionally but always feel guilty after eating this oily and cholesterol-ful dish. So I will usually order a plate to share.

With the Covid-19 lockdown, I have not eaten out for quite a few months but I can’t say that I missed anything out there very much. It has been quite a blessing as I started eating into all the stash in my freezer and discovered a few online frozen and fresh food suppliers to re-stock.

I recently concocted my version of Hae Luak by switching oysters to prawns, which I much prefer. I reduced the amount of oil so it won’t taste so jelak/greasy and overwhelming. Since I am making this dish, I can be more generous with the eggs.

I like it.

It’s easy to make but do get all your ingredients ready because this is a very fast-to-cook dish.

This recipe is for 1-2 persons. But I can just eat everything.

Ingredients
*10 medium prawns
*3 eggs, beaten
*5 tabsp water
*2+1 tabsp sweet potato flour (I used tapioca flour)
*1 tabsp rice flour
*1 tabsp sambal blachan (less if you prefer less heat)
*1 tsp fish sauce
*4 tabsp oil for frying
*spring onions and coriander to garnish

Method
1. Leave 1 tabsp sweet potato flour to dust onto prawns. Mix sweet potato flour and rice flour with water.
2. Heat pan and add all oil. When pan is hot, pour flour mixture, followed by beaten eggs. Very lightly scramble the mixture and add sambal chili.
3. Add prawns dusted with 1 tabsp sweet potato flour, followed by fish sauce.
4. Allow the omelet to brown then turn. When prawns are cooked and omelet browned, plate and garnish.

Leave a comment