Sautéed Asparagus and Assorted Fresh Mushrooms with Truffle Oil

I order this dish every time I go to China Classic. It’s delicious and inspiring.

Not difficult to replicate and I think I got it!

An aside note – when I first experimented with the recipe, I put a bit more asparagus. That night my blood pressure plunged. I am not sure if it is related. Still, it’s a great recipe to make and it’s nutritious too.

If you are not a fan of truffle oil, then leave the last drizzle.

Ingredients
*2-4 spears Australian asparagus, washed and cut to 3cm lengths
*2 cups variety of fresh mushrooms, shiitake and shimeji or any combination of your favourite fresh mushrooms, trimmed
*6 wolfberries (optional) – soaked for a minute with a little water to soften
*1 tabsp Abalone sauce
*1 teasp minced garlic
*1 tabsp truffle oil
*oil for frying
*pinch of salt

Method
1. Heat frying pan, add oil to heated pan and stir fry asparagus for 2 minutes, sprinkle a bit of salt.
2. Add minced garlic into pan and continue to stir fry. Put in mushrooms and wolf berries and abalone sauce. Continue to stir fry for another minute.
3. Remove and plate, drizzle truffle oil and serve. This dish could be also a side to accompany steak or chicken.

Leave a comment